De Beers Head Office - 36 Stockdale Street
36 Stockdale Street is a double storey building constructed in typical Kimberley red brick. The building was designed by White Cooper and erected in 1887 by the company Jones and Cole. Until very recently it was the Head office of De Beers Consolidated Mines Limited (DBCML). When Cecil Rhodes bought out Barney Barnato, he moved De Beers into this building from the much smaller Boardroom he previously worked from.
Barney Barnato's original offices from the mid-1880s were in a section of this building and can still be seen at one end of this building (under a bullnose iron verandah on the far right of this photo).
Stockdale Street boasts a range of historic buildings that are not only closely associated with the founding and growth of De Beers, but also form the nucleus of the De Beers’ conservation area in Kimberley. Some of these historic buildings include:
- De Beers Benefit Society Building: The building retains its solid Edwardian characteristics. It was built in red brick. The building was designed by D W Greatbatch and built in 1906.
- Consolidated Building: This is a double storeyed neo-classical building with heavy parapet and is set on a substantial stone foundation. The building was built in 1926 and housed the Diamond Corporation Ltd headquarters.
- Old stables: This is a single storey rectangular building extending along Stockdale Street. Three substantial roof sections. In 1902 the plans for the stables were approved. As early as 1910 De Beers owned a fleet of cars which were kept here.